International conference The Critical Tasks of the University, University of Bologna

Conference The Critical Tasks of the University was held at the University of Bologna from 22 to 24 June 2017. The conveners of the conference were Rosi Braidotti (Utrecht University), Judith Butler (Berkeley) and Raffale Laudani (University of Bologna). The Institute for Philosophy and Social Theory, itself a member of the International Consortium from its establishment, was represented by Petar Bojanić, the director of the Institute, and research associates Gazela Pudar Draško and Adriana Zaharijević.

This conference was the first meeting of the conference cycle of the International Consortium of Critical Theory Programs (ICCTP), funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.  Focused on “The Critical Tasks of the University,” the conference evaluated the prevailing metrics of value that increasingly structure and restrict the university in various global locations and consider how critical thought or more robust notions of “critique” can inform and enliven our contemporary reflections on valuable ways of knowing. As important as it is to support the study of critical theory in the university, it is also crucial to defend the university as a valued site for critical thinking in public life.

Conference participants: RAFFAELE LAUDANI (University of Bologna); WANG HUI (Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities, Tsinghua University); SANDRO MEZZADRA (University of Bologna); GISELA CATANZARO (University of Buenos Aires); ROSI BRAIDOTTI (Utrecht University); ATHENA ATHANASIOU (Panteion University, Athens); ANDREW PARKER (Rutgers University); PETAR BOJANIĆ (University of Belgrade); DEBJANI GANGULY (University of Virginia); JUAN OBARRIO (Johns Hopkins University); SARAH NUTTALL (WISER, Johannesburg); PREMESH LALU (University of the Western Cape); RITA MONTICELLI (University of Bologna); STEFANO HARNEY (Singapore Management University); TIZIANA TERRANOVA (University of Naples L’Orientale); MANUELA BOJADŽIJEV (Leuphana University of Lüneburg); JUDITH BUTLER (Berkeley); ACHILLE MBEMBE (WISER, Johannesburg); NIVEDITA MENON (Jawaharlal Nehru University, India); DONATELLA DELLA PORTA (Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa).

Posted in Uncategorized